Celebrating Our Rich History
For over 50 years the Ann Arrundell County Historical Society has continued to pursue its mission of collecting, preserving and sharing the rich history of this area. Its collections of books, photographs, documents, and artifacts, now numbering in the thousands, attract scores of visitors each year and fulfill the vision of the founders: to encourage and inspire present and future generations to preserve and share our County’s heritage.
The society is custodian of the historic Benson-Hammond House, built in circa 1820, which is on the National Registry of Historic Places and last standing farmhouse on the large tract of land that became BWI airport. The rooms of the house display antique artifacts of farm life, furniture, textiles, and more. Find out more about visiting the Benson-Hammond House.
And no, the spelling our society is not in error. In the year 1650, the Maryland Colony named its third county after the wife of Lord Baltimore. The colony’s records of that time show the name as Ann Arrundell. Over time, the name of the county evolved to Anne Arundel. Find out more about Lady Ann.